What is the WELL Standard?


WELL Building Standard is an international rating system for building certification.

The WELL standard is developed and regulated by the International Well Building Institute (IWBI) – USA. GBC Europe Certification Body, Germany.

It is the first standard of its kind that focuses exclusively on the health and well-being of the people in the building.



Defines 102 performance indicators, design strategies, and procedures that can be implemented by owners, designers, engineers, contractors, users, and building managers.

It is based on a thorough analysis of existing studies on the effects of indoor spaces on humans, and was put forward thanks to a comprehensive expert assessment.


In order to meet the requirements of the WELL standard, the premises must undergo a process that includes on-site evaluation and performance testing conducted by a third party.


A certification system aimed at creating comfortable, healthy and favorable conditions in buildings and the immediate environment. The WELL standard is a logical continuation and complement of the LEED building certification system. Only in the case of the LEED system, the main focus is on an energy-efficient, environmentally friendly and modern building, then WELL uses the LEED system as a foundation for further development of favorable conditions aimed at improving the quality of life and human health.



Digital platform

The WELL v2 standard has a digital platform that allows you to administer the process of implementing the solution and certification. The platform accompanies the project team and recommends the most suitable solutions, taking into account the specifics of the project.


10 concepts

WELL v2 has 10 concepts aimed at human health, these are:

  • Air
  • Water
  • Food
  • Lighting
  • Movement
  • Temperature comfort
  • Sound
  • Materials
  • Intellect
  • Society
  • Innovations

Mandatory conditions

WELL has mandatory requirements that are mandatory to fulfill.


Individual approach to the purpose of the room

The system has individual requirements for different functional types of premises, as well as uniform requirements for all types of premises.


Certification levels

A total of 110 points are technically available. The standard also has three different certification levels depending on the number of points achieved, namely:

  • Well certification with silver (silver): 50 points
  • WELL Gold Certificate (gold): 60 points
  • Platinum well certification (platinum): 80 points


HPBS Company and the WELL Standard

HPBS cooperates with the International Well Building Institute in the implementation and certification of buildings according to the WELL standard and is ready to organize support.

WELL Certification